Broadband Switching Credit: UK Providers That Pay Exit Fees
Leaving broadband before the minimum term ends can trigger an early termination charge. Switching-credit offers can reduce that cost through account credit, bank reimbursement or, in some cases, a prepaid card.
The amount you receive depends on the new provider, package and claim rules. Some schemes only cover broadband exit fees, and account credit cannot be used to pay your old provider directly.
Compare the new monthly price, contract length, speed and total contract cost before switching.
Broadband switching credit offers at a glance
The table lists confirmed switching-credit offers available when this guide was checked. A maximum of £300 does not mean every customer receives £300. Providers normally cover the eligible early termination charge shown on your final bill, up to the maximum allowed by their scheme.
| Provider and maximum | Payment and claim period | Main restriction |
|---|---|---|
|
EE Up to £300 £200 for broadband only; £300 when switching broadband and TV |
EE account credit Send the paid final bill within four months of activation. | Invitation-only for new EE Broadband customers. Exit fees from BT, EE, Plusnet and business broadband are excluded. |
|
BT Up to £300 £200 for broadband only; £300 when switching broadband and TV |
BT account credit Send the paid final bill within four months of activation. | Invitation-only for new BT Broadband customers. Exit fees from BT, EE, Plusnet and business broadband are excluded. |
|
Sky Up to £300 £200 broadband; £100 TV; £300 broadband and TV |
Sky account credit Claim within 90 days of activation. | The maximum depends on the eligible services switched. The TV switching offer applies when moving to Sky Q, Sky Glass or Sky Stream. |
|
Vodafone Up to £300 |
Vodafone account credit Claim details are sent 14–30 days after activation; you then have 90 days to claim. | New customers on eligible 24-month Full Fibre 150, 500, 900, 1.6, 1.8 or 2.2 plans bought directly from Vodafone. |
|
Three Up to £300 |
Three account credit Submit the final bill from day 14 and within 90 days of your Three Broadband start date. | New 24-month 4G or 5G Home Broadband contracts. Available to new customers or existing customers adding Home Broadband; the final bill must be from a UK broadband provider. |
|
Hyperoptic Up to £300 150Mb up to £100; 500Mb up to £200; 1Gb up to £300. Lower limits can apply at lower monthly package prices. |
Hyperoptic bill credit Provide proof during the order or by the end of the 30th day your service is active. | Selected promotion postcodes and eligible 24-month 150Mb, 500Mb or 1Gb packages. Third-party, affiliate and reseller sales are excluded unless Hyperoptic agrees otherwise. |
|
YouFibre Up to £300 |
Bank reimbursement Paid after the YouFibre service is active and the first bill has been paid. | Requires a 24-month YouFibre contract and an active Direct Debit. The final bill must separately show the early termination charge and match the name and address of the new service. |
|
BeFibre Up to £300 Be200 £100; Be500 £150; Be1000 £200; Be2300 £300 |
Cash reimbursement to a UK bank account or PayPal Complete the claim within 90 days of enrolment. | Enrol before or on the day of the broadband order. Available on eligible 12- and 24-month contracts. BeFibre Ltd now trades under the Zzoomm name. |
|
brsk Up to £300 |
brsk account credit Send the previous provider’s final bill within 30 days of activation. | New residential customers on eligible 12-month BetterNet200, BetterNet1000 or BetterNet2000 plans. The offer must be arranged through brsk sales or customer service before activation. |
|
Fibrus Up to £400 |
Bank payment Submit a complete claim within 40 days of the Fibrus service starting. | Covers broadband early termination fees only. The Fibrus broadband contract must have a minimum term of at least 18 months. |
|
Quickline Up to £300 |
Contract-buyout contribution The current public offer does not state a payment method or claim deadline. | Quickline currently states that, where required, it can cover up to £300 of broadband exit fees. Eligibility is confirmed as part of the switch. |
|
LightSpeed Up to £350 £250 on 150Mbps and 500Mbps; £350 on 1Gbps, 2Gbps and 5Gbps |
Bank reimbursement Submit the required details within 30 days of installation. Payment follows the first LightSpeed bill and eligibility checks. | Contract Buy Out must be arranged when ordering through the LightSpeed sales team and covers qualifying broadband termination fees only. |
|
KCOM Up to £200 £50 on 100Mbps; £100 on 300Mbps; £150 on 500Mbps; £200 on 900Mbps |
KCOM account credit Send proof of the paid exit fee within 90 days of activation; credit is applied within 30 days of validation. | New residential full fibre customers in eligible KCOM rollout areas only, excluding HU1–HU17. The maximum depends on the package selected. |
|
GoFibre Up to £200 |
GoFibre account credit Opt in when ordering and submit the final bill and proof of payment within 90 days of activation. | Covers eligible broadband early cancellation charges only. One-off charges such as engineering fees are not covered. |
|
Zzoomm Up to £300 200Mbps £100; 500Mbps £150; 1000Mbps £200; 2300Mbps £300 |
Cash reimbursement to a UK bank account or PayPal Complete the claim within 90 days of enrolment. | Enrol in Contract Buyout on the same day as the broadband order. Available on eligible 12- and 24-month packages; the maximum depends on the package selected. |
Enter your postcode to compare broadband deals available at your premises. Check the deal summary for switching credit, reward cards and any package-specific conditions before ordering.
Switching credit from major broadband providers
EE switching credit
EE contributes up to £200 when an eligible customer switches broadband. The maximum increases to £300 when the order includes an eligible EE TV service and the customer also faces qualifying TV cancellation charges.
EE applies the payment as account credit. You must pay the previous provider yourself, obtain the final bill and email it to EE's switching team within four months of activation. The document needs to show the early termination charge clearly.
The offer is invitation-only. It excludes termination charges from BT, EE and Plusnet, including moves between these related brands. Business broadband charges are also excluded. If separate broadband and TV bills apply, send both bills together rather than making two claims.
EE starts processing the claim after the 14-day cooling-off period. Valid credit can take up to 28 days to appear after the claim has been approved.
BT switching credit
BT offers up to £200 towards broadband termination charges or up to £300 when an eligible BT TV order accompanies the broadband switch.
The previous provider must be paid first. Send the final bill to BT's switching team within four months of activation, with the customer's name, old provider and termination charge visible. BT then adds the approved amount to the new account.
This is an invitation-only offer. Charges from BT, EE and Plusnet do not qualify, so it cannot fund a move between those brands. It also excludes business broadband termination charges.
Account credit lowers future BT bills; it does not reimburse the current account directly. This distinction matters if the old provider collects a large final payment before BT applies the credit.
Sky switching credit
Sky pays up to £200 towards an eligible broadband exit charge. TV customers can claim up to £100 for leaving a previous television service, or up to £300 in total when switching both broadband and TV.
Claims must reach Sky within 90 days. Pay the old provider, then send proof of the paid final bill with the early termination charge clearly identified. Sky applies the approved sum to the new account rather than transferring money to the bank.
The £300 maximum only applies when both eligible services generate qualifying charges. A broadband-only customer cannot claim the unused TV allowance.
Check the order summary for the eligible Sky TV service. The broadband and TV parts of the claim should use bills in the same customer's name wherever possible.
Vodafone switching credit
Vodafone offers up to £300 in account credit with selected 24-month full-fibre plans ordered directly. The eligible fixed-line range includes Full Fibre 150, 500 and 900, plus selected multi-gigabit packages where available.
Vodafone emails the claim form 14 to 30 days after activation. The customer then has 90 days to upload the old provider's final bill. The name and home details on the claim need to agree with the Vodafone order, and the bill must show the early termination charge.
Approved credit can take up to 30 days to reach the Vodafone account. It reduces forthcoming bills and does not fund the old provider's Direct Debit.
Vodafone also offers up to £300 with selected 5G Home Broadband orders. Eligibility varies by contract, so confirm the switching-credit entry in the basket before paying.
Three Home Broadband switching credit
Three offers up to £300 to customers taking a new 24-month 4G or 5G Home Broadband contract. Existing Three customers can also qualify when adding an eligible new Home Broadband line.
The one-month option does not qualify. Claims open 14 days after the service starts and close after 90 days. The final bill must display the customer's name, home details and the early termination charge.
Three adds approved credit to the new account within 30 days. As with other account-credit offers, the customer needs enough money to pay the previous provider before the benefit arrives.
Mobile home broadband does not always use the same switching process as a fixed line. Do not cancel an existing fixed broadband service until the new connection has been tested and the transfer arrangements are clear.
Hyperoptic switching credit
Hyperoptic offers up to £300 in non-refundable account credit in selected postcodes. The scheme applies to eligible 24-month 150Mbps, Hyperoptic offers switching credit on eligible 150Mb, 500Mb and 1Gb packages with a 24-month minimum term. The amount depends on both the speed you choose and the monthly package price.
- 150Mb: up to £50 if the monthly package price is below £12, or up to £100 from £12.
- 500Mb: up to £50 below £12, up to £150 from £12 to £20.99, or up to £200 from £21.
- 1Gb: up to £50 below £12, up to £150 from £12 to £20.99, up to £200 from £21 to £24.99, or up to £300 from £25.
Hyperoptic only applies switching credit up to the qualifying early termination charge from your previous provider, even if your new package has a higher maximum.
You need to send Hyperoptic your order number and final bill from your old provider within 30 days of the Hyperoptic service going live. The final bill should show the switching costs and the old contract details.
The credit is applied to your Hyperoptic account and reduces future bills. It cannot be used towards a Hyperoptic termination fee if you leave during the minimum term.
YouFibre switching credit
YouFibre reimburses up to £300 directly to the customer's bank account on eligible 24-month packages. This can be more useful than account credit because it replaces money already paid to the previous provider.
The final bill must show a separate early termination charge and use the same name and home details as the YouFibre account. Estimates, screenshots without the necessary account information and bills that do not itemise the charge can be rejected.
The new service must be live, the first YouFibre bill must be paid and the Direct Debit must remain active.
Fibrus switching credit
Fibrus contributes up to £400 towards an eligible broadband termination charge, the highest confirmed maximum in this comparison.
The claim must be submitted within 40 days of the Fibrus service starting. Fibrus can request proof that the old bill has been paid. The scheme applies to broadband exit fees rather than unrelated mobile or subscription cancellation charges.
A £400 maximum only benefits customers with a qualifying charge at that level. The payment cannot exceed the eligible broadband fee shown on the final bill.
Quickline switching credit
Quickline offers up to £300 with selected full-fibre packages.
LightSpeed switching credit
LightSpeed reimburses up to £250 with its 150Mbps and 500Mbps packages, rising to £350 with eligible 1Gbps, 2Gbps and 5Gbps services.
Customers need to call to order and submit proof of the exit charge within 30 days of installation. The new service must remain active for 30 days and the first bill must be paid. LightSpeed then sends the approved reimbursement to the customer's bank account, normally within five days of the first payment.
The faster plan should still be suitable for the household's actual usage. A larger exit-fee allowance does not justify a more expensive package that remains unnecessary for the rest of the contract.
KCOM switching credit
KCOM's switching offer applies in its expansion areas outside the traditional Hull postcode range of HU1 to HU17.
The maximum rises by package: £50 on 100Mbps, £100 on 300Mbps, £150 on 500Mbps and £200 on 900Mbps. Submit proof of the paid termination charge within 90 days of activation. KCOM adds approved credit to the broadband account within 30 days.
Customers in Hull need to check the deals available for their specific premises because this switching-credit scheme excludes HU1–HU17.
GoFibre switching credit
GoFibre contributes up to £200 towards eligible early termination charges when a new customer switches from another broadband provider. The approved amount is applied as credit to the GoFibre account.
Customers need to opt in when ordering and submit the final bill and proof of payment within 90 days of activation. GoFibre says claims are normally reviewed within seven days once the required evidence has been received. Send the complete final bill rather than a cropped image so the customer, account and cancellation details can all be checked.
Zzoomm switching credit
Zzoomm’s package-based switching credit starts at £100 on 200Mbps, rises to £150 on 500Mbps and £200 on 1Gbps, and reaches £300 on 2.3Gbps.
You need to enrol for the switching credit on the same day as the broadband order and complete the claim within 90 days. Leaving enrolment until after the order can make the claim ineligible.
Payment is made as cash reimbursement to a UK bank account or PayPal, not as Zzoomm account credit. Compare the full package cost rather than choosing 2.3Gbps solely for the higher switching-credit
How switching credit is paid
The words “switching credit” can describe three different forms of payment. They all reduce the financial impact of leaving early, but they affect cash flow differently.
| Payment type | Providers | Important detail |
|---|---|---|
| Broadband account credit | BT, EE, Sky, Vodafone, Three, Hyperoptic, KCOM and GoFibre | The approved amount reduces future broadband bills. It does not pay the former provider directly. |
| Bank or cash reimbursement | YouFibre, LightSpeed, Fibrus and Zzoomm | The approved amount is paid back after the required evidence and eligibility checks. Zzoomm can pay to a UK bank account or PayPal. |
| Payment method not publicly stated | Quickline | Quickline confirms help with eligible broadband exit fees, but its current public offer does not specify how the approved amount is paid. |
Account credit still has full value if the customer remains with the new provider long enough to use it. It becomes less useful when the household cannot afford the old final bill upfront or expects to cancel the new service before all the credit has been consumed.
Switching-credit claim process
Most rejected claims fail because the customer ordered through an ineligible route, missed the deadline or sent a bill that did not identify the early termination charge.
Use this sequence:
- Ask the old provider for the exact early termination charge before ordering.
- Confirm that the new package, order route and postcode qualify for switching credit.
- Save the offer conditions, order summary and confirmation email.
- Let the new provider arrange an eligible fixed-line switch through One Touch Switch.
- Pay the old provider's final bill in full unless the new provider gives different written instructions.
- Download the complete final bill showing the customer name, account details and separate exit charge.
- Submit the claim within the stated time limit.
- Keep the claim acknowledgement until the bank payment, card or account credit arrives.
Do not send an estimated cancellation figure when the provider requires a final paid bill. A quote proves the expected cost but does not prove that the old contract ended or that the charge was paid.
[Image placement: A horizontal switching-credit timeline showing order, activation, old final bill, claim deadline, validation and payment. Suggested alt text: Steps and deadlines for claiming UK broadband switching credit.]
One Touch Switch and switching credit
One Touch Switch lets residential customers move between eligible fixed-line broadband providers without contacting the old provider to cancel. The new provider starts the transfer, and the old provider sends information about the contract end date and any early termination charge before the switch completes.
The switching service does not submit a credit claim. The customer still needs to obtain the final bill, pay it where required and send the evidence to the new provider.
Do not cancel the old fixed broadband separately when One Touch Switch applies. A manual cancellation can interrupt the transfer, create a gap in service or cause the old line to close before the new provider completes its work.
Some switches need a different process, including certain new installations and mobile 4G or 5G Home Broadband services. Follow the instructions in the new provider's order confirmation.
Check whether switching saves money
A large credit can distract from a higher monthly price or a long contract. Compare the cost of switching now with the cost of remaining until the existing minimum term ends.
Start with these figures:
- the exact early termination charge;
- the eligible switching credit, limited to the exit charge;
- setup, installation and delivery charges;
- the new monthly price across the full contract;
- scheduled annual price increases;
- reward cards or bill credits that can be combined with the switching scheme; and
- the value of any service benefits that the household will actually use.
For a quick break-even check, use:
Unpaid switching cost = exit charge + new setup charges ? switching credit ? compatible cash rewards
Monthly saving = old monthly price ? new monthly price
Break-even period = unpaid switching cost ÷ monthly saving
If the new package costs more each month, there is no monthly-price break-even point. The switch can still be worthwhile for faster speeds, better upload performance, wider Wi-Fi coverage or a more reliable connection, but those benefits need to justify the additional cost.
[Interactive tool placement: Stay or switch broadband calculator. Inputs: old monthly price, months remaining, exit charge, new monthly price, new contract length, setup charge, switching credit, reward value and annual price changes. Results: upfront cash needed, net switching cost, break-even month and total contract cost.]
Total cost of staying and switching
Use the same comparison period for both options. Comparing three months with the old provider against a 24-month bill from the new provider produces a misleading result.
An accurate total should include:
- all monthly payments during the chosen period;
- the part of the exit charge that the credit does not reimburse;
- setup and delivery charges;
- mid-contract price increases that can be calculated;
- account credit and compatible rewards; and
- any paid whole-home Wi-Fi, calls or television add-ons.
Treat account credit as a reduction in future broadband bills, not cash received on the switch date. If the household needs £250 to pay the old final bill and receives £250 of new-account credit a month later, it still needs £250 available in the meantime.
Claim mistakes that cause rejection
Ordering through the wrong route
Some schemes apply only to direct website orders, telephone orders or customers invited during checkout. A third-party deal can have a better reward but exclude the provider's switching credit.
Claiming with an estimate
Many providers require the final paid bill, not an early termination estimate. Wait for the document that shows the contract has ended and itemises the charge.
Missing the enrolment step
brsk requires the request during the phone order, while Zzoomm requires enrolment on the order date. A later claim cannot repair a missed registration when the scheme conditions require it upfront.
Sending incomplete evidence
The bill usually needs the customer's name, home details, previous provider, account reference and separate termination charge. Cropping away the top of the bill can remove the information needed for validation.
Missing the deadline
Claim periods range from 30 days after installation to four months after activation. Record the deadline as soon as the service goes live rather than waiting for the old provider to send reminders.
Cancelling the new service too early
A claim can fail when the new broadband is cancelled during the cooling-off period or before payment. Unused account credit can also disappear when the account closes.
Including ineligible services
Broadband credit does not automatically include mobile, streaming, device finance or unrelated subscription charges. Sky, BT and EE have specific allowances for eligible TV cancellation fees; most other schemes focus on broadband.
Choosing a switching-credit deal
Start with the broadband service, then consider the credit. Check availability at the premises, average download speed, upload speed, contract length, router, whole-home Wi-Fi options and total contract cost.
A lower credit can produce the cheaper result when the monthly price costs less throughout the contract. Equally, a bank reimbursement can be easier to use than a larger account credit when the old final bill creates an immediate cash-flow problem.
Before ordering, confirm five points:
- the exact package qualifies;
- the order route qualifies;
- the old provider and service qualify;
- the claim deadline is realistic; and
- the credit can be combined with any affiliate reward or new-customer offer.
Take a screenshot or save a PDF of the order summary. It gives you a dated record if the online offer changes before the claim is processed.
Conclusion
Fibrus currently has the highest confirmed switching-credit maximum at up to £400. Vodafone, Three, Hyperoptic, YouFibre and Zzoomm offer up to £300, while BT, EE and Sky can also reach £300 when qualifying broadband and TV cancellation charges are included.
The payment method varies by provider. YouFibre, LightSpeed, Fibrus and Zzoomm use bank or cash reimbursement, while many larger providers apply the approved amount as credit to future broadband bills. Quickline confirms help with exit fees but does not currently publish a specific payment method on its public offer page.
Choose the broadband package on speed, reliability, Wi-Fi, contract length and total contract cost first. Treat switching credit as help towards a verified early termination charge, then follow the claim process carefully and keep your final bill and confirmation until the payment or credit has been received.
Enter your postcode to compare broadband deals available at your premises and check which switching-credit offers apply to the packages you can actually order.
Broadband switching credit FAQs
Can switching credit and a broadband reward card be claimed together?
Sometimes. The two benefits can be combined only when the order conditions allow both.
A provider-funded switching scheme can exclude affiliate offers, while a third-party deal can replace the provider’s direct-order credit with a reward card. Check that both benefits appear in the order summary. If only one appears, assume the other is not included until the provider confirms it in writing.
Does the new broadband provider pay the old provider directly?
Usually not. Most customers pay the old provider’s final bill and then claim account credit, a bank reimbursement or a prepaid card from the new provider.
The household therefore needs enough money to pay the exit charge before the switching benefit arrives.
Can broadband switching credit pay TV, phone or mobile cancellation fees?
Most schemes apply only to broadband termination charges. BT and EE increase their maximum to £300 for eligible broadband and TV switches, while Sky has separate broadband and television allowances.
Mobile contracts, handset finance, streaming subscriptions and unrelated cancellation charges are normally excluded unless the offer specifically includes them.
Can a customer moving between BT, EE and Plusnet claim switching credit?
BT and EE exclude termination charges from BT, EE and Plusnet. A move between these related brands therefore does not qualify for their switching-credit schemes.
A separate new-customer discount or reward can still apply when it appears with the selected package.
Does One Touch Switch submit the switching-credit claim?
No. One Touch Switch arranges an eligible fixed-line transfer and gives the customer advance information about any early termination charge.
The customer must still pay the old bill when required and submit the evidence to the new provider before its claim deadline.
Can two final bills be included in one claim?
Yes, when the offer includes broadband and TV termination charges and the customer receives separate bills. Submit both documents together when the provider requires a single claim.
The combined payment cannot exceed the individual broadband and TV allowances or the provider’s overall limit.
Is unused account credit lost after cancelling the new broadband?
It can be. Account credit is usually non-refundable and can only pay future bills from the new provider. Any remaining balance can be removed when the broadband account closes.
A completed bank reimbursement does not have this restriction. Prepaid cards remain subject to their own activation and expiry conditions.
Does switching credit apply to 4G or 5G Home Broadband?
Three offers up to £200 with eligible new 24-month 4G and 5G Home Broadband contracts. Vodafone also includes selected 5G Home Broadband plans in its switching offer.
The transfer process differs from a fixed-line switch. Confirm when to cancel the previous broadband and test the mobile connection before ending the old service.
Can a claim be made when the old provider sends the final bill late?
Contact the new provider before the claim deadline and keep evidence that the final bill has not arrived. Do not alter an estimate or submit an incorrect charge.
The new provider can explain whether it accepts alternative evidence or can record the delay, but it does not have to extend the claim period.
Is switching credit taxable or paid as cash?
Broadband account credit reduces future service bills and is not paid as cash. A bank reimbursement replaces an eligible termination charge the customer has already paid.
Personal tax circumstances can differ when broadband costs are claimed as a business expense. Customers using a business account or submitting expense claims should seek appropriate tax advice.









